Photo Project 2011 | Week 6

This week’s word, well I had lots of choices with regard its meaning. Too many in fact! The word:

‘prime’

I’m not going to type out every meaning, but click here if you want to have a look at all the different meanings for this one little word!

Being a photographer, this word is quite apt for the profession!

You should have prime position to capture many of the moments we hope to and a good prime lens is always handy to have.

There are many ways in which to represent this word as an image. And all just in and around the house…

1. My husband brought home some meat for dinner, some prime cuts destined for the pressure cooker. No, I didn’t find the idea of capturing raw meat very appetising ;-), so looked around the house for some other ways to capture the word.

2. My daughters’ brought home their school books to cover in contact – what a fun job that is!  Covering the maths book, thinking in numbers, prime numbers, that is. Our house has a number 3 in it! Perfect! Yep, went out into the heat, out from the comfort of the aircon, and took a pic of my letterbox with the house number on it. I am sure my neighbours thought I was a little strange, but in the name of creativity, I ignored my embarrassment. Got that image, but I wanted more.

4. Before the cooler change last night, I lay on a mat outside with my dogs and Boo-Boo (aka Caitlin) and we looked up. Bingo! Prime position! It was amazing to watch the changes in colour over such a short period of time although my pics don’t do the real thing justice! The resulting images…. (click on the image to see a larger format)

All from my front and backyard! By the way, the letterbox number was taken with one of my prime lenses, Sigma 28mm, f1.8. The landscapes with my favourite zoom, Pentax 60-250mm f4.

Thanks for looking and continuing with me whilst I explore my creativity and have fun with my photography! Aint that what it’s all about…?

Leave a Reply

