If I say so myself…!

Being judged or critiqued by a group of your peers can be quite the nail-biter! Putting yourself up for possible criticism voluntarily is not a position you place yourself very often!

I chose to enter my first photographic competition, and an international one to boot! Mainly to see where I stood within the industry, and I suppose you could say, to get some validation that I may be ‘doing something right’ or wrong for that matter!

The International Aperture Awards have been going for a number of years.  Thousands of amateur and professional photographers from around the world, enter this competition and the talent is outstanding! The international judging panel is made up of many of Australia’s top photographers/digital artists, including Peter Eastway Rocco Ancora, Daniel Capobianco and Sue Bryce. Making the decision to enter for me was daunting to say the least! As I said, placing yourself up for possible failure/criticism… well say no more!

Merit awards are scaled from platinum, gold, silver and bronze. These awards, are given to images that, as the website says, “are recognized by the judges as high quality images and worthy of recognition in the competition.”

Let’s cut to the chase:

I entered three prints. Of those three I had the honour of receiving a Bronze Award for one print – and just two points shy off a silver…! And was also two points shy of receiving another Bronze award for another of my images!

I joked with my family, I am now an international award-winning photographer!! 😉 The awarded image is a picture of my dad. He now wants royalties!

And am pleased to say – I feel validated – if I say so myself! 🙂

The awarded image…

 

A better quality image to see better….

 

 

And two points shy of another Bronze Award…

 

 

2 thoughts on “If I say so myself…!

  1. Hah! I found you.

    I used my cyberstalker skills and found the photographer who is buying my beautiful Pentax 70mm f/2.4 LTD.

    Congratulations on your award! I have recently started a blog myself and also won an “international” award.

    Please have a wander through my blog and don’t be shy, leave some feedback. You can find it @ http://wprphoto.tumblr.com/

    Cheers.

    Will

  2. Congratulations !!! The photographs are really beautiful, I am definitely not an expert when it comes to photography (my photos all look like mug shots he,he) I do however know when something is beautiful and artistic. I think it’s great that you have received recognition from people who know what they are talking about, however anyone with eyes can look at your photos and realise you have talent and passion. Awesome stuff girlfriend, I’m sooo proud of you and hope you keep going with it.
    Mwah, mwah,
    Sonia

Leave a Reply

